Hayden Fellowship

The application is available in HTML and Word.

This new award is named after C.B. Hayden, former Director of Research of ABC News. In recognition of his support of continued education and learning for news librarians; his leadership in advancing the resources and technologies used in research; and his generous spirit in sharing his wealth of knowledge, the Hayden Fellowship will consist of an annual financial grant of up to $500 to be divided among one or more applicants for the purpose of job-related continuing education.

The grant will be awarded upon the completion of an application that includes the cost, location and synopsis of the class, a brief explanation of the how the applicant hopes to benefit by attending and a letter of reference from a news librarian or news editor. The applications will be reviewed by a panel who will select the recipient(s). A certificate will be awarded at the annual News Division Awards banquet.

Previous Winners

2003 Carol (Bjork) Taylor, Daily Camera
2004 Lynne Palombo, The Oregonian
2005 Lisa Schwartz, ABC News
2006 Rafael Fernandez, The Miami Herald