Categorized | Uncategorized

Congratulations to the 2014 News Division award winners!

From Debra Bade:

It is my great pleasure to announce the recipients of the 2014 News Division Awards. 

Kwapil Award

Kee Malesky, author and former NPR librarian extraordinaire, will be honored with the Joseph F. Kwapil Memorial Award, the highest award given by the News Division. Kee has contributed her insights and talents to the News Division for many years and has been an inspiration to so many of us in the division, and to many other librarians and journalists. Congratulations, Kee!

Henebry Award

Three outstanding people have been chosen to receive the Agnes Henebry Roll of Honor Award this year. Please join me in congratulating Carol Campbell, former Library Director at the The Daily Oklahoman, now retired; Cliff Pierce, Director of Global Content Alliances for ProQuest Information and Learning; and Amy Disch, former Library Director for the Columbus Dispatch currently working for Meriter Foundation, in Madison, Wisconsin. The Division was fortunate to have both Carol and Amy serve as leaders in the role of division Chair, and Cliff has been an active supporter of the News Division for many years, both individually and in his various roles at ProQuest.

Thank you to Charlie Campo, Nina Johnson, and Ron Larson for serving on the Awards Committee and for their thoughtful work. 

The division’s celebration dinner will be held in Vancouver at the Boathouse – English Bay on Monday, June 9th, during the annual SLA Conference.

Congratulations to Kee, Carol, Amy and Cliff!

Leave a Reply